Tickets
← Back to the overview

ULRIKE SCHWAB

Ulrike Schwab studied opera singing and music theater directing at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin, where she became involved early on with the search for new form and language in music theater. Engagements as a singer took her to the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen, among others. Also with the
NKO, where she has already appeared as a soprano in five productions. As a director, Ulrike Schwab staged Verdi’s Rigoletto at the Schlossoper Haldenstein in Chur, realized her music theater evening La commedia è finita freely adapted from Donizetti’s opera Don Pasquale on the RAW grounds in Berlin, and staged the world premiere Tako Tsubo by Malte Giesen in the Tischlerei of the Deutsche Oper Berlin as part of the “Neue Szenen”. For the NKO she developed her own version of the opera Armida by Gluck, and premiered here her highly acclaimed productions of Wolfskinder based on Humperdinck’s Hänsel und Gretel and Ist die Welt auch noch so schön.
At Radialsystem V, Ulrike Schwab directed the world premiere of Whole Body Like Gone. At the end of May 2019, her production of The Love for Three Oranges after Sergei Prokofiev could be seen in the workshop of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden. In the 2021/2022 season, she will direct PAGLIACCI by Leoncavallo at Theater Bremen and COSÌ FAN TUTTE by Mozart at Folkoperan Stockholm. In August 2021, Ulrike Schwab will be presented with the Mortier Next Generation Award at the Salzburg Festival.

This website uses cookies - you can find more information about this and your rights as a user in our privacy policy at the end of the page. Click on "I agree" to accept cookies and visit our website directly.

Necessary cookies only

Tickets
← Zurück zur Übersicht

ULRIKE SCHWAB

Ulrike Schwab studierte Operngesang und Musiktheaterregie an der Hochschule für Musik »Hanns Eisler« Berlin, wo sie sich früh mit der Suche nach neuer Form und Sprache im Musiktheater beschäftigte. Engagements als Sängerin führten sie u. a. an die Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, die Deutsche Oper Berlin, das Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen. Auch mit der
NKO verbindet sie eine kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit, auf deren Bühne sie in bereits fünf Produktionen als Sopranistin zu erleben war. Als Regisseurin inszenierte Ulrike Schwab Verdis Rigoletto an der Schlossoper Haldenstein in Chur, realisierte ihren Musiktheaterabend La commedia è finita frei nach Donizettis Oper Don Pasquale auf dem RAW-Gelände in Berlin und inszenierte im Rahmen der »Neuen Szenen« die Uraufführung Tako Tsubo von Malte Giesen in der Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Für die NKO entwickelte sie eine eigene Fassung der Oper Armida von Gluck, und brachte hier ihre viel beachteten Inszenierungen von Wolfskinder nach Humperdincks Hänsel und Gretel und Ist die Welt auch noch so schön zur Uraufführung.
Im Radialsystem V führte Ulrike Schwab Regie bei der Uraufführung von Whole Body Like Gone. Ende Mai 2019 war ihre Inszenierung von Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen nach Sergej Prokofjew in der Werkstatt der Staatsoper Unter den Linden zu sehen. In der Spielzeit 2021/2022 wird sie am Theater Bremen PAGLIACCI von Leoncavallo und an der Folkoperan Stockholm COSÌ FAN TUTTE von Mozart inszenieren. Im August 2021 wird Ulrike Schwab im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele der Mortier Next Generation Award verliehen.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies - nähere Informationen dazu und zu Ihren Rechten als Benutzer finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung am Ende der Seite. Klicken Sie auf „Ich stimme zu", um Cookies zu akzeptieren und direkt unsere Website besuchen zu können.

Nur essenzielle Cookies