Live Stream
Free Admission

LAB1 (oper.digital)

What does it take to make a garment applaud? How can an audience cheer via smartphone so that the enthusiasm also reaches the applauded in the theater hall?

On May 4, the oper.digital workshop room will open its doors for the first time – with in-depth insights into the technical innovations that are exploring new possibilities for interaction between stage events and the audience in the show THE DEAN OF GERMANY as part of the oper.digital project.

Berit Greinke (Junior Professor in Wearable Computing at the Einstein Center Digital Future) will talk about the technical background and challenges of the Conductor Suit, which was developed by an 11-member research team at the Einstein Center Digital Future. The first prototype of the eTextile will be worn and used in all THE DEAN OF GERMANY episodes by Claas Krause (Musical Director Verworner-Krause Chamber Orchestra). In the Lab, after explaining the technical details, the Conductor Suit will be presented live as a performative musical tool with the Verworner-Krause Chamber Orchestra.

The developers Jonas Urbat (Digital Applause and Crowdcomposing) and Paul Bießmann (Conductor Suit and Digital Applause) will provide technical insights on digital applause, from the idea to programming and live implementation.

LAB1 will be moderated by the dramaturge of the Neuköllner Oper, Änne-Marthe Kühn. In a discussion with Clemens Seemann, project manager oper.digital, the genesis of the project, its long-term goals, as well as its potentials will be highlighted and the first applications will be evaluated.

The discussion round will be broadcast via live stream following The Dean of Germany.


 

Streaming was yesterday – on all seven evenings between April 17 and May 6, the live show THE DEAN OF GERMANY meets the new oper.digital project funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation – with digital tools opening up new fields of participation for the audience. The digitization of musical theater goes into the next round!

Project partner: Verworner-Krause Chamber Orchestra

Participants: Einstein Center Digital Future, kultursystem, kling klang klong, Trickster Orchestra, Jonas Urbat, Paul Bießmann, Cultural Design, Kulturdata and many more.

The project oper.digital is implemented by the Neuköllner Opera in collaboration with the Verworner-Krause-Kammerorchester and is developed within the framework of “dive in. Program for Digital Interactions” of the Federal Cultural Foundation, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) in the NEUSTART KULTUR program.

Livestream
Eintritt frei

LAB1 (oper.digital)

Was braucht es, um ein Kleidungsstück zum Applaudieren zu bringen? Wie kann ein Publikum per Smartphone jubeln, sodass die Begeisterung auch bei den Beklatschten im Theatersaal ankommt?

Am 4.5. öffnet der Werkstattraum von oper.digital erstmals die Türen – mit vertiefenden Einblicken in die technischen Innovationen, die im Rahmen des Projekts oper.digital in der Show THE DEAN OF GERMANY neue Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zwischen Bühnengeschehen und Publikum ausloten.

Berit Greinke (Junior Professor in Wearable Computing am Einstein Center Digital Future) spricht über die technischen Hintergründe und Herausforderungen des Conductor Suit, der von einem 11-köpfigen Forschungsteam des Einstein Center Digital Future entwickelt wurde. Der erste Prototyp des eTextils wird bei allen THE DEAN OF GERMANY-Folgen von Claas Krause (Musikalische Leitung Verworner-Krause-Kammerorchester) getragen und eingesetzt. Im Lab wird der Conductor Suit nach der Erklärung der technischen Details als performatives musikalisches Werkzeug live mit dem Verworner-Krause-Kammerorchester präsentiert.

Die Entwickler Jonas Urbat (Digitaler Applaus und Crowdcomposing) und Paul Bießmann (Conductor Suit und Digitaler Applaus) werden technische Einblicke zum digitalen Applaus ermöglichen, von der Idee bis hin zur Programmierung und Live-Umsetzung.

Moderiert wird das LAB1 von der Dramaturgin der Neuköllner Oper, Änne-Marthe Kühn. Im Gespräch mit Clemens Seemann, Projektleiter oper.digital werden die Entstehungsgeschichte des Projekts, dessen langfristige Ziele, sowie seine Potenziale beleuchtet und die ersten Anwendungen ausgewertet.

Die Gesprächsrunde wird via Live-Stream im Anschluss an The Dean of Germany übertragen.


 

Streamen war gestern – an allen sieben Abenden zwischen 17. April und 6. Mai trifft die Live-Show THE DEAN OF GERMANY auf das neue und durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes geförderte Projekt oper.digital – dabei öffnen digitale Tools neue Beteiligungsfelder für das Publikum. Die Digitalisierung des Musiktheaters geht in die nächste Runde!

Projektpartner: Verworner-Krause-Kammerorchester

Beteiligte: Einstein Center Digital Future, kultursystem, kling klang klong, Trickster Orchestra, Jonas Urbat, Paul Bießmann, Cultural Design, Kulturdata u.v.m.

Das Projekt oper.digital wird durch die Neuköllner Oper in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verworner-Krause-Kammerorchester umgesetzt und wird entwickelt im Rahmen von „dive in. Programm für digitale Interaktionen” der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.