Tickets
← Back to the overview

Bésame Mucho

LIFE, LOVE AND MUSIC OF
ENRIQUE GRANADOS AND
THE CONSUELO VELÁZQUEZ by Albert Tola, Bernhard Glocksin and Malte Giesen

b-d-s/istock.com

What does love mean? What, sending music into the world? Is there such a thing as destiny that connects the two?

Bésame mucho – how do we want to translate that: Kiss me often, kiss me hard, kiss me always? – is the hit song that a young Mexican pianist and composer made from a melody line by a Spanish piano virtuoso and composer. Since then, it has been sung around the world by Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra, the Beatles, Placido Domingo, Diana Krall and countless others. But who were Consuelo Velázquez (1916-2005) and Enrique Granados (1867-1916)?

Granados died the year Velázquez was born. He drowned with his wife in the waters of the English Channel; neither has found a grave to this day. A German U-boat torpedoed the ferry on its way home from the glorious premiere of his opera Goyescas at the New York Met. Had Granados anticipated his own death when he wrote that farewell scene in the opera finale, and from which the young Mexican formed Bésame mucho 20 years later?

Our Spanish-German chamber play follows the life traces and love stories of two fascinating composer personalities who never met and yet are connected in many ways. And it embraces us with the great feelings of the Spanish late romantic piano music of Enrique Granados and the Mexican hits and boleros of Consuelo Velázquez, played live and expanded by sound collages between Atlantic ocean depths and the afternoon heat in Mexico City.

ARRANGEMENTS AND COMPOSITION Malte Giesen IDEA AND TEXT Albert Tola and Bernhard Glocksin DIRECTION Ana Cuéllar MUSICAL DIRECTION/PLAYER Danai Vritsiou DESIGN Elionor Sintes DRAMATURGY Giulia Fornasier

WITH Christian Camino (Granados a.o.) and Ana Schwedhelm (Velázquez a.o.) as well as Danai Vritsiou (piano a.o.) and Lukas Fröhlich (trumpet a.o.)

Next dates

Fri 17.02. 20:00 Premiere Sold out
Wed 22.02. 20:00 Tickets
Thu 02.03. 20:00 Tickets
Fri 03.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sat 04.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sun 05.03. 18:00 Tickets
Wed 08.03. 20:00 Tickets
Wed 15.03. 20:00 Tickets
Thu 16.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sun 19.03. 20:00 Tickets
Thu 30.03. 20:00 Tickets
Fri 31.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sat 01.04. 20:00 Tickets
Sun 02.04. 20:00 Tickets
Fri 07.04. 20:00 Tickets
Fri 14.04. 20:00 Tickets
Sat 15.04. 20:00 Tickets

This website uses cookies - you can find more information about this and your rights as a user in our privacy policy at the end of the page. Click on "I agree" to accept cookies and visit our website directly.

Necessary cookies only

Tickets
← Zurück zur Übersicht

Bésame Mucho

LEBEN, LIEBE UND MUSIK DES ENRIQUE GRANADOS UND DER CONSUELO VELÁZQUEZ von Albert Tola, Bernhard Glocksin und Malte Giesen

© b-d-s/istock.com

Was bedeutet Liebe? Was, Musik in die Welt zu senden? Gibt es so etwas wie Schicksal, das beides miteinander verbindet?

Bésame mucho – wie wollen wir das übersetzen: Küss mich oft, Küss mich heftig, Küss mich immer? – ist der Schlager, den eine jungen mexikanische Pianistin und Komponistin aus einer Melodiezeile eines spanischen Klaviervirtuosen und Komponisten machte. Und der seither um die Welt geht – gesungen von Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra, den Beatles bis hin zu Placido Domingo, Diana Krall und Ungezählten mehr. Aber wer waren Consuelo Velázquez (1916–2005) und Enrique Granados (1867–1916)?

Granados starb in dem Jahr, als Velázquez geboren wurde. Mit seiner Frau ertrank er in den Fluten des Ärmelkanals, beide haben bis heute kein Grab gefunden. Ein deutsches U-Boot torpedierte die Fähre auf ihrem Heimweg von der glanzvollen Uraufführung seiner Oper Goyescas an der New Yorker Met. Hatte Granados den eigenen Tod vorweggenommen, als er im Opernfinale jene Abschiedsszene schrieb, und aus der die junge Mexikanerin 20 Jahre später Bésame mucho formte?

Unser spanisch-deutsches Kammerspiel folgt den Lebensspuren und Liebesgeschichten von zwei faszinierenden Komponist*innen-Persönlichkeiten, die sich nie begegnet und doch auf vielfältige Weise miteinander verbunden sind. Und es umarmt uns mit den großen Gefühlen der spanischen spätromantischen Klaviermusik des Enrique Granados und der mexikanischen Schlager und Boleros von Consuelo Velázquez, live gespielt und erweitert von Soundcollagen zwischen atlantischen Meerestiefen und der Nachmittagshitze in Mexico City.

ARRANGEMENTS UND KOMPOSITIONEN Malte Giesen IDEE UND TEXT Albert Tola und Bernhard Glocksin INSZENIERUNG Ana Cuéllar MUSIKALISCHE LEITUNG/KLAVIER Danai Vritsiou AUSSTATTUNG Elionor Sintes DRAMATURGIE Giulia Fornasier

MIT Christian Camino (Granados u.a.) und Ana Schwedhelm (Velázquez u.a.) sowie Danai Vritsiou (Klavier u.a.) und Lukas Fröhlich (Trompete u.a.)

Nächste Termine

Fr 17.02. 20:00 Premiere Ausverkauft
Mi 22.02. 20:00 Tickets
Do 02.03. 20:00 Tickets
Fr 03.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sa 04.03. 20:00 Tickets
So 05.03. 18:00 Tickets
Mi 08.03. 20:00 Tickets
Mi 15.03. 20:00 Tickets
Do 16.03. 20:00 Tickets
So 19.03. 20:00 Tickets
Do 30.03. 20:00 Tickets
Fr 31.03. 20:00 Tickets
Sa 01.04. 20:00 Tickets
So 02.04. 20:00 Tickets
Fr 07.04. 20:00 Tickets
Fr 14.04. 20:00 Tickets
Sa 15.04. 20:00 Tickets

Diese Website verwendet Cookies - nähere Informationen dazu und zu Ihren Rechten als Benutzer finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung am Ende der Seite. Klicken Sie auf „Ich stimme zu", um Cookies zu akzeptieren und direkt unsere Website besuchen zu können.

Nur essenzielle Cookies