Tickets
← Back to the overview

Musiktheater Vernetzt: What kind of (stereo) TYPEare you?

After the show OF Lisas land des Lächelns on 24 Ferbuary 2024

The audience discussion following Lisa’s Land of Smiles revolves around (cultural) relationships, expectations and prejudices. Following on from the characters Mi and Sou-Chong in Franz Lehár’s operetta, but above all in the new adaptation by Elisabeth Pape and Abigél Varga, we talk to the performer Vivian Yau (Hong Kong) about her personal experiences in the cultural sector and in the musical representation of Asia in the West. In conversation with the ethnomusicologist Dr Yongfei Du, the individual will be placed in a larger context and stereotypes and internalised racism will be explored.

Concept and Moderation: Änne-Marthe Kühn

Participants

Dr. YONGFEI DU

Dr Yongfei Du is a lecturer and postdoctoral candidate in ethnomusicology at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media and at the Center for World Music at the University of Hildesheim. She completed her bachelor’s degree in music education and musicology at Nanjing Normal University (China) and later continued her studies in social musicology at Humboldt University in Berlin. Her research interests include (self-)orientalism and cultural appropriation, questions of identity, gender, and race in musical practices, intersectionality in German music education, and postcolonial cultural theoretical approaches. In recent years, she has conducted extensive fieldwork and archival research in China, Germany, Brazil and Ghana (Africa).

She is currently involved in the project “Fair play in music education. A culturally sensitive approach to children’s music” (bpb). She has also collaborated with journalists from German radio stations such as Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR, 2019) and Deutschlandfunk Musikjournal (2021) to discuss topics such as the history of Chinese music and racist children’s songs in German music education.

Vivian Yau

© David Noles

Hong Kong soprano Vivian Yau holds a Bachelor of Music from the Juilliard School and a Master of Music from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. She was most recently seen in the title role of Silent Opera UK’s immersive production of Vixen at the Hong Kong Arts Festival 2023. Yau makes her German debut with the role of Mi in LISA’S LAND OF SMILES at the NKO. Previously, Yau has sung numerous operatic roles, including the title role in the world premiere of Pierangelo Valtinoni’s Alice in Wonderland at the Hong Kong Arts Festival 2021. Other career highlights include her Carnegie Hall debut as the soloist in Bach’s Christmas Oratorio with the Cecilia Chorus of New York and the soprano solo in Handel’s Messiah in Radio Television Hong Kong’s annual Christmas concert. As an active advocate of opera as a powerful art form in today’s world, Yau frequently collaborates with international contemporary composers. Digital performances during the Covid period include Michael Ching’s Zoom Speed Dating Tonight! with Brevard Music Center’s Janiec Opera Company, and Ken Steen’s and Mary Birnbaum’s APART/MENTAL with #OperaHarmony and OperaVision. Yau was voted “My Favourite Young Music Maker” by the viewers of Radio Television Hong Kong.

LISAS LAND DES LÄCHELNS

A dating operetta based on Franz Lehár by Abigél Varga (music) and Elisabeth Pape (lyrics)

This website uses cookies - you can find more information about this and your rights as a user in our privacy policy at the end of the page. Click on "I agree" to accept cookies and visit our website directly.

Necessary cookies only

Note

FROM NOW ON: MOBILE SUBTITLES IN GERMAN AND ENGLISH FOR SELECTED PRODUCTIONS!

Subtitles on your smartphone with OPERA ACCESS.

Tickets
← Zurück zur Übersicht

Musiktheater Vernetzt: Was bist du denn für ein (Stereo-)Typ?

im Anschluss an die Vorstellung VON LISAS LAND DES LÄCHELNS am 24. Februar

Das Publikumsgespräch im Anschluss an Lisas Land des Lächelns dreht sich um (inter- und transkulturelle) Beziehungen, Erwartungen und Vorurteile. Anknüpfend an die Figuren Mi und Sou-Chong in Franz Lehárs Operette, aber vor allem in ihrer Überschreibung von Elisabeth Pape und Abigél Varga, sprechen wir mit der Darstellerin Vivian Yau (Hongkong) über Erlebnisse im Kulturbetrieb und in der musikalischen Darstellung des asiatischen Raums im Westen.
Im Gespräch mit der Musikethnologin Dr. Yongfei Du werden individuelle Rassismus-Erfahrungen, aber auch Stereotypisierungen im Musiktheater der letzten 150 Jahre beleuchtet und in einen gesellschafts- und kulturpolitischen Kontext gebettet.

Leitung und Moderation: Änne-Marthe Kühn

Beteiligte

Dr. YONGFEI DU

Dr. Yongfei Du ist Dozentin und Habilitationskandidatin für Musikethnologie an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover sowie am Center for World Music der Universität Hildesheim. Sie absolvierte ihr Bachelorstudium in Musikpädagogik und Musikwissenschaft an der Normal University Nanjing (China) und setzte ihre Studien später in Sozialmusikologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin fort. Zu ihren Forschungsinteressen gehören der (Selbst-)Orientalismus und kulturelle Aneignung, Fragen zur Identität, Gender, und Race in musikalischen Praktiken, Intersektionalität in der deutschen Musikpädagogik sowie postkoloniale kulturtheoretische Ansätze. In den letzten Jahren führte sie umfangreiche Feldforschungen und Archivrecherchen in China, Deutschland, Brasilien und Ghana (Afrika) durch.

Aktuell engagiert sie sich im Projekt „Fairplay in der Musikpädagogik. Kultursensibler Umgang mit Kindermusik“ (bpb). Darüber hinaus hat sie mit Journalisten deutscher Radiosender wie dem Westdeutschen Rundfunk (WDR, 2019) und Deutschlandfunk Musikjournal (2021) zusammengearbeitet, um Themen wie die Geschichte der chinesischen Musik und rassistische Kinderlieder in der deutschen Musikpädagogik zu diskutieren.

Vivian Yau

© David Noles

Die Hongkonger Sopranistin Vivian Yau erwarb einen Bachelor of Music an der Juilliard School und einen Master of Music am San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Sie war zuletzt in der Titelrolle der immersiven Produktion Vixen von Silent Opera UK beim Hong Kong Arts Festival 2023 zu sehen. Mit der Rolle der Mi in LISAS LAND DES LÄCHELNS an der NKO gibt Yau ihr Deutschlanddebüt. Zuvor sang Yau zahlreiche Opernrollen, u.a. die Titelrolle in der Uraufführung von Pierangelo Valtinonis Alice im Wunderland beim Hong Kong Arts Festival 2021. Zu den weiteren Höhepunkten ihrer Karriere gehören ihr Debüt in der Carnegie Hall als Solistin in Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium mit dem Cecilia Chorus of New York und das Sopransolo in Händels Messias im jährlichen Weihnachtskonzert von Radio Television Hong Kong. Als aktive Verfechterin der Oper als kraftvolle Kunstform in der heutigen Zeit arbeitet Yau häufig mit internationalen zeitgenössischen Komponisten zusammen. Zu den digitalen Aufführungen während der Covid-Zeit gehören Michael Chings Zoom Speed Dating Tonight! mit der Janiec Opera Company des Brevard Music Center sowie Ken Steens und Mary Birnbaums APART/MENTAL mit #OperaHarmony und OperaVision. Yau wurde von den Zuschauern von Radio Television Hongkong zu „My Favourite Young Music Maker“ gewählt.

LISAS LAND DES LÄCHELNS

Eine Dating-Operette nach Franz Lehár von Abigél Varga (Musik) und Elisabeth Pape (Text)

Diese Website verwendet Cookies - nähere Informationen dazu und zu Ihren Rechten als Benutzer finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung am Ende der Seite. Klicken Sie auf „Ich stimme zu", um Cookies zu akzeptieren und direkt unsere Website besuchen zu können.

Nur essenzielle Cookies

Zur Kenntnis nehmen

AB SOFORT: ÜBERTITEL AUF DEUTSCH UND ENGLISCH FÜR AUSGEWÄHLTE PRODUKTIONEN!

Übertitel auf's Smartphone mit OPERA ACCESS.