Take it or leave it!

Two Award-Winning Works from the 2018 Berlin Opera Prize
May 25 and 26, 8:00 pm, St. Elizabeth Church (Mitte)

400 years of music theater in Europe – what a legacy! But: who actually represents which legacy, chooses something for themselves, who would like to receive something and who would prefer not to during the reading of the will? 36 music theater teams from nine different countries dealt with these questions for this year’s competition. Two of the prize-winning works will now be presented over the course of two evenings at St. Elizabeth Church in Mitte.

Arianna. Ariadne.Ariane

The team working with Tom Smith (amongst others, winner oft he Vincent E. Lam Prize for Composition) and Caitlin van der Maas (who has created works for Münchner Kammerspiele and Dutch National Opera Academy, Amsterdam, amongst others) take the myth of Ariadne as their topic – Ariadne is the protagonist of one of the first operas in the history of music. Three women are stranded on an island, abandoned by their men…three perspectives, languages, time periods and musical idioms mix, complement each other and form a new Lamento di Arianna.
Composed by Tom Smith | Directed and Written by Caitlin van der Maas | Stage Design by Henriette Müller
Featuring Caio Azevedo, Liat Himmelheber, Elizabeth Marshall, Roxana Lucia Mihai,
Ronja Sophie Putz, Jacopo Salvatori

 

Prothesen der Autonomie – eine Sci-Fi Oper (Prosthese of Automony – a Sci-Fi Opera)

Thierry Tidrow (amongst others, winner of the Jules-Léger Preis, prize of the composition competiton Neue Szenen III), Zsófia Geréb (who has directed in Budapest, Berlin and Bayreuth – Wagner für Kinder) as well as Franziska vom Heede (amongst others, recipient of the 2017 Kleist Förderpreis) use Prothesen der Autonomie – eine Sci-Fi Oper (Prosthese of Automony – a Sci-Fi Opera) to offer a futuristic/comedic view of the year 2180 and of the “complaint and waiting periods of the union for the prevention of emotionally stressful work”. After all, the good, old opera with its suffering heroines is not acceptable for a modern singer. As a result, a robot performs the role. But the robot has its own opinion and quirks as well…

Composed by Thierry Tidrow | Directed by Zsófia Geréb | Libretto by Franziska vom Heede | Stage Design by Vanessa Vadineanu and Florence Klotz
Featuring Constanze Jader and the ensemble LUX:NM (Sebastian Berweck, Olga Holdorff, Silke Lange, Andreas Voss)

Take it or leave it!

Die nächsten Termine

  • 25.05.2018, 20.00 - 22.00
  • 26.05.2018, 20.00 - 22.00
Tickets

Zwei Preisträgerarbeiten des Berliner Opernpreis 2018 25./26. Mai, 20 Uhr | Kirche St. Elisabeth (Invalidenstr. 3, 10115 Berlin)

400 Jahre Musiktheater in Europa – was für ein Erbe! Nur: wer tritt welches Erbe überhaupt an, sucht sich was heraus, will was und was lieber nicht haben bei der Testamentseröffnung? 36 Musiktheaterteams aus neun Ländern haben sich mit dieser Frage des diesjährigen Wettbewerbs von Neuköllner Oper und GASAG auseinander gesetzt. In der Elisabeth-Kirche in Mitte sind nun an zwei Abenden die zwei Preisträgerarbeiten zu erleben:

Arianna, Ariadne, Ariane
Das Team um Tom Smith (u. a. Preisträger des Vincent E. Lam Preises für Komposition) und Caitlin van der Maas (Arbeiten u. a. für Münchner Kammerspiele, Dutch National Opera  Academy, Amsterdam) thematisieren den Ariadne-Mythos – Ariadne ist Protagonistin einer der ersten Opern der Musikgeschichte. Drei Frauen sind auf einer Insel gestrandet, verlassen von ihren Männern…drei Perspektiven, Sprachen, Zeiten und musikalische Idiome vermischen und ergänzen sich und formen ein neues Lamento di Arianna.
Komposition: Tom Smith | Regie/Text: Caitlin van der Maas | Ausstattung: Henriette Müller
Mit: Caio Azevedo, Liat Himmelheber, Elizabeth Marshall, Roxana Lucia Mihai, Ronja Sophie Putz, Jacopo Salvatori

Prothesen der Autonomie – eine Sci-Fi Oper
Thierry Tidrow (u. a. Jules-Léger Preis, Preis des Kompositionswettbewerbs Neue Szenen III), Zsófia Geréb (u. a. Inszenierungen in Budapest, Berlin und Bayreuth – Wagner für Kinder) sowie Franziska vom Heede (u. a. Kleist Förderpreis 2017) entwerfen in Prothesen der Autonomie – eine Sci-Fi Oper einen futuristisch-komödiantischen Blick auf das Jahr 2180 und auf »Reklamations- und Wartungszeiten der Gewerkschaft zur Verhinderung emotional belastender Arbeiten«. Denn zweifellos ist die gute alte Oper mit ihren leidenden Heroinen keiner modernen Sängerin zumutbar. Folglich übernimmt diese ein Roboter. Aber auch dieser hat so seine eigene Meinung und Macken…
Komposition: Thierry Tidrow | Regie: Zsófia Geréb | Libretto: Franziska vom Heede | Ausstattung: Vanessa Vadineanu und Florence Klotz
Mit: Constanze Jader und dem Ensemble LUX: NM (Sebastian Berweck, Olga Holdorff, Silke Lange, Andreas Voss)