← Back to the overview

comPOSITION – Berliner Opernpreis 2020

The Berlin Opera Award

The Neuköllner Oper and Gasag have been connected by their individual cooperation since 1997: They initated the composition contest comPOSITION which is awarded every two years. It adresses art collectives and composers, who aim on creating works for a genre-open and socially adept form of music theatre.

comPOSITION invites to the production of a 30-minute music theatre play, which is funded by the awarding institutions and premieres in Berlin and performed again in another collaboration with the Theater Freiburg.
Two short stories by the author Ferdinand von Schirach are the base of the contest in 2020. Schirach is one of the most succesful German writers. His books have become bestsellers worldwide and always refer to social issues. With the author’s consent hereby two of his works will be premiered as music theatre pieces for the very first time.


The Finalists of 2020

The teams surrounding Samuel Penderbayne/Theresa von Halle (Munich) and Andys Skordys/Jelena Viksanovic (Nicosia/Belgrade) have convinced the jury of the new Berlin Opera Award 2020 with their concepts. In the following months they will develop a 30 minute music theatre piece based on a short story of Ferdinand von Schirach, which unfortunately could not be performed in 2020 due to the pandemic. The Berlin Opera Award will be postponed to Spring 2021 instead.

From October 11 to 13, 2019, eight teams from three countries presented their visions of new music theatre. In a very intensive work process, the concepts were supplemented by many suggestions from the jury and input from experts at the LKA. Participants were – besides the prizewinners – the teams around the composers Misha Cvijovic (Berlin, Belgrade), Carla Ginjaume (Barcelona), Sven Daigger (Berlin), Maren Kessler/David Schwarz (Weimar), Alexander Mathewson (Munich), Irina Prieto Botella (Barcelona), Samuel Penderbayne (Munich) and Andys Skordis (Cyprus/ Amsterdam).

*Ein hellblauer Tag and Subotnik. The stories EIN HELLBLAUER TAG and SUBOTNIK are included in the volume STRAFE by Ferdinand von Schirach. STRAFE is published by Luchterhand Literaturverlag, Munich. Performance rights: Ferdinand von Schirach, represented by Gustav Kiepenheuer Bühnenvertriebs-GmbH, Berlin,

** Heiko Voss – Dramaturg at Musiktheater Theater Freiburg
Bernhard Glocksin – Artistic Director Neuköllner Oper, Berlin
Desirée Meiser – Artistic Director Gare du Nord, Basel
Wiebke Roloff – Music Journalist (i.a. Opernwelt)
Arash Safaian – Composer, Munich

The Berliner Opernpreis by Neuköllner Oper and GASAG, in cooperation with the Theater Freiburg and supported by the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

This website uses cookies - you can find more information about this and your rights as a user in our privacy policy at the end of the page. Click on "I agree" to accept cookies and visit our website directly.

Necessary cookies only