History

The beginnings of the Neuköllner Oper go back to the year 1972, the association was founded in 1977, rehearsals and performances were held in various churches until 1981, and since 1981, when project funding was introduced, a factory floor was used and performances were held at all the usual theatre venues. In 1988 the Neuköllner Opera House got its own theatre with the ballroom of the Passage Neukölln.

Today, the Great Hall can seat up to 220 people and the studio stage up to 60. The Neuköllner Opera was founded by the composer and church musician Winfried Radeke.

In the early days, the repertoire included pieces that were not performed at all or were performed in an unquestioned form at the great houses of Berlin, such as Der Kaiser von Atlantis by Viktor Ullmann or Die Nachtschwalbe by Boris Blacher, but also world premieres such as Die Vögel nach Aristophanes (text/music: Winfried Radeke).

In 1996 Winfried Radeke brought the director and author Peter Lund into the artistic direction. With works such as Das Wunder von Neukölln, Babytalk, Elternabend or Stella, he made the house internationally known as a trendsetter in the field of new German musicals.

Peter Lund was succeeded in 2004 by the dramaturg and author Bernhard Glocksin, who is committed to opening up the house to new ways of performing, a radical questioning of the opera repertoire and the international orientation of the house.

Today the Neuköllner Opera House is directed by a three-member board of directors (Andreas Altenhof, Bernhard Glocksin, Laura Hörold) and develops 8-10 world premieres per year.

The Neuköllner Oper has established a firm place for itself in the rich cultural landscape of Berlin, not least through its numerous cooperations (including the course of study Musical/Show of the UdK Berlin since its foundation in 1997) and author competitions (Berlin Opera Prize – donated by GASAG, also since 1997, and the Zaimoglu Writers’ Academy).

The three previous artistic directors describe here their view of our house (written down on the occasion of its 40th anniversary in November 2017).

Geschichte

Die Anfänge der Neuköllner Oper reichen bis in das Jahr 1972 zurück, die Gründung des Vereins erfolgte 1977. Bis 1981 wurde in verschiedenen Kirchen geprobt und gespielt, seit 1981 mit Einführung der Projektförderung wurde eine Fabriketage genutzt und an allen gängigen Theaterorten gespielt. 1988 bekam die Neuköllner Oper mit dem Ballsaal der Passage Neukölln ein eigenes Theater.
In der heutigen Nutzung verteilen sich auf den Großen Saal bis zu 220, auf die Studiobühne bis zu 60 Plätze. Gegründet wurde die Neuköllner Oper durch den Komponisten und Kirchenmusiker Winfried Radeke.

In der ersten Zeit standen Stücke auf dem Spielplan die gar nicht oder aber in nicht hinterfragter Form an den großen Häusern Berlins gegeben wurden wie Der Kaiser von Atlantis von Viktor Ullmann oder Die Nachtschwalbe von Boris Blacher, aber auch Uraufführungen wie Die Vögel nach Aristophanes (Text/Musik: Winfried Radeke).

1996 holte Winfried Radeke den Regisseur und Autor Peter Lund mit in die künstlerische Leitung. Mit Werken wie Das Wunder von Neukölln, Babytalk, Elternabend machte er das Haus auch international bekannt als Trendsetter im Bereich des neuen deutschen Musicals.
Nachfolger von Peter Lund wurde 2004 der Dramaturg und Autor Bernhard Glocksin, der sich für die inhaltliche Öffnung des Hauses für neue Spielweisen, eine radikale Befragung des Opernrepertoires und die internationale Ausrichtung des Hauses einsetzt.

Heute wird die Neuköllner Oper von einem dreiköpfigen Direktorium geleitet (Andreas Altenhof, Bernhard Glocksin, Laura Hörold) und entwickelt 8-10 Uraufführungen pro Jahr.

Nicht zuletzt durch die zahlreichen Kooperationen (u.a. mit der UdK) und Autorenwettbewerbe (Berliner Opernpreis – gestiftet von der GASAG, Autorenakademie Zaimoglu) einen festen Platz in der reichen Berliner Kulturlandschaft erobert.